Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suggested non standard chemo questions

Hi,

Please help me with some suggestions as here in Croatia.. there are no support groups. Here is my case:

It all happened fast. After diagnosis my markers were AFP 6,4. hCG 14,9, LDH 220. CTs clean. I had orchiectomy of my right testicle. It turned out to be 95%embryonal and 5% teratoma.
    My hCG was measured 2 more times and rose to 114.

Is it usual that they sent me directly to chemo?

I work as a steward in a airline company an I am also in a national parachuting team of croatia and thanks to your forum I suggested bleomycin toxicity to my onkologist and the need to receive oxygen from the bottle.

He is sending me to 4xPEI chemo tommorow which is CISPLATIN, ETOPOSIDE and IFOSAMIDE.

Now. Is there anyone who had the same case? Can I expect to be able to work in an airplane after this treatment? Is it overkill for early stage cancer? Will my blood and kidneys survive this so I pass my medical exam for my profession..???

How late in to chemo can I expect some side effects?

Please, any help is appreciated, thanks in advance

Neb:
    You will feel the side effects of chemo very soon. hair loss, upset stomach, tiredness. The real problem is what will the chemo do long term. Fromeverything I have been told the body can recover from chemo in 12-24 months, that is the amount of time for the organs to recover. You will most likely feel great in 3-4 months afrter the treatments are done. I don't think it should effect your aboilty to do your job. As for your athletic performance that may suffer some in the short term but with a steady cardio routine you should be back to your old self in a few short months.
    Son Jason diagnosed 4/30/04, stage III. Right I/O 4/30/04. Graduated College 5/13/04. 4XEP 6/7/04 - 8/13/04. Full open RPLND 10/13/04. All Clear since.