Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is it possible for TC to progress REALLY slowly?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it possible for TC to progress REALLY slowly?

Hi All,

I studied prostate cancer for years. Regarding prostate cancer, we know that generally tumors take YEARS to progress. Almost every Western man has this, but doctors choose surveillance over time, because chances are that something else will kill you before prostate cancer will. However, if it progresses to an aggressive androgen-independent form, the patient is essentially finished.

Does anyone know if this is ever true with TC, especially seminoma? Doesn't anyone ever refuse treatment, and still have a similar sized tumor 5 or 10 years later? The reason I ask is that I always felt I had some problems with lefty... for example, it was always tender in my adult life, and smaller. And I had what I thought was a slight hernia for a couple of years (a nonspecific groin pain). Do any of you have any experiences in what you thought were slow growing cancers?

Regards,

djm
    Detected mass 10-6-06, Radical left I/O 10-10-06, Stage I seminoma, 1.5 cm primary, No LV invasion, No Rete Testis Invasion... Currently on Surveillance.

djm:
    Both are slow growing but you need to look at the age of the patient. If they discover prostate cancer while you are in your 30s-40s it will certainly be treated as opposed to a discover when you are 70.
    Last edited by dadmo; 11-20-06, 09:11 PM.
    Son Jason diagnosed 4/30/04, stage III. Right I/O 4/30/04. Graduated College 5/13/04. 4XEP 6/7/04 - 8/13/04. Full open RPLND 10/13/04. All Clear since.

Treated by Dr. Rakowski of Midland Park, NJ. Visited Sloan Kettering for protocol advice. RPLND done at Sloan Kettering.

Comment

Originally posted by dadmo
      djm: