Treatment Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Treatment Questions

Hi, this is my first time to post here. Just wanted to get some input from you all about what course I should take. I had my I/O on 7/31 and am trying to figure out where to go from here. Here is my history- Diagnosis on 7/27/07, left I/O 7/31/07, Pathology- NSGCT, Seminoma w/ small choriocarcinoma. Pre-I/O my HCG was 97 and had returned to normal level within a week after surgery. Considered to be good-risk Stage I. I was living in the mid-west at the time and decided to move back home to Alabama to get better quality care and be closer to friends and family. I just met with my new Urologist yesterday and went over my options. My previous doctors recommended surveillance. An oncologist friend I have talked to feels that chemo is the best choice. My new Urologist says I should do surveillance or RPLND. I had previously felt that surveillance was not a good idea but now I am starting to lean toward choosing surveillance. I am going to talk to my doc next week after he has looked at my path slides and C/T images (it took a while to get them from my old Dr.). Any questions or input?
    Dx- 7/27/07, Left I/O- 7/31/07, Seminoma w/ small Choriocarcinoma, Stage I, further treatment-??

alamike, this is a very difficult choice to make and my heart goes out to you for even having to make it. I think Scott has the guidelines for treatment options and I am sure he will find you here and post them. My gut says not to do surveillance because of the small choriocarcinoma. Keep in mind I am not a doctor. I just feel that TC can be agressive and that most people should be agressive in return. Maybe the RPLND could spare you the effects of chemo. I am sure others will come to support you and offer you a wide range of advice. I am sorry that you have to be here in this fight and I wish you all the best. Let us know what you decide and how we can support you.

M.